George Miller, tutor in Tung Chung
1st Lesson Trial

1st Lesson Trial

We will contact you to organize the first Trial Lesson!

What do I enjoy most about tutoring?

I enjoy watching students grow both academically and personally. When I'm in charge of a student, I look at them as my project. I do everything I can to provide the resources and the rest is up to the student to do the work however, I also give them moral support. For example, I have taught my brother the times table recently and as each day passes his calculation gets faster and he eventually remembered it. This made me proud to be a positive influence on someone's life and knowing that my efforts will be remembered one day satisfies me. I will be approaching students in the same way although my efforts may not be remembered as 'George Miller taught me this and it helped me a lot' (haha). All jokes aside, the satisfaction of being the reason for someone's positive growth is personally the most enjoyable factor of being a tutor.

My Strengths as Tutor

As a tutor, my strengths are that I try to have a connection with the students and by being able to get to know the student, I can teach subjects more enthusiastically and make the sessions fun for them. For example, if a student likes cars and I am teaching maths, I could use cars as a topic to teach maths. Questions such as 'if there are 5 red taxis and there are 4 people per taxi, how many people are there?' could be asked. By having a connection with the student, the student can become more comfortable with his/her surrounding and can become more engaging with the session. By understanding the student's personality I can motivate and give them confidence boosting their academic performance.

Most important things I can do for a student

Teaching based on the student's needs and the circumstances rather than making a student adapt to the tutor's learning ways. The tutor needs to acknowledge the learning circumstances and adapt to the student's way of learning. For example, rather than setting homework of x hours per week, ask the student's weekly plan and give the appropriate amount of homework to accommodate the student's needs and time. Students/customers comes first! Another important thing is for the tutor to care for the academic growth of a student. If a tutor does not care for the growth of a student, it is more likely for the tutor to not be able to help a student effectively and most importantly not help achieve a student's goals.

Subjects Tutored

  • English Language tutoring
  • English Literature tutoring
  • Maths tutoring
  • Science tutoring
  • ICT tutoring
  • Economics tutoring
  • History tutoring
  • Geography tutoring
  • Physical Education tutoring

Tutoring students in

  • p1
  • p2
  • p3
  • p4
  • p5
  • p6
  • s1
  • s2
  • s3
  • s4
  • s5
  • s6

High School Attended

Australian International School Hong Kong (AISHK)

University Attended

n/a

Academic Achievements

High School

About Me

I am a young person full of energy and an easily approachable person. As I have a 9-year-old brother, I understand younger people better and I am often the 'charismatic brother'. I believe that fun sessions (obviously doing the work properly, though) can make content more memorable for students which is something I learned in my schooling years. Thus, I will try my best to arrange fun activities as such so that students can strive academically. I also enjoy social activities and I can look out for students' well-being as well. I could be that teacher who students like and tell secrets to which relates to my strengths as students could almost look at me as an 'uncle' whilst maintaining that teacher figure. Due to the low age gap, I believe this can be an advantage compared to other tutors as students may find me less intimidating thus, being able to connect better.

Experience

0.5
I have never officially taught kids as a tutor however, I have a 9-year-old brother who I teach maths, English and Japanese. As I am teaching my brother, it is easy to get his attention and make learning more fun as I know his hobbies. For one school term, I signed up for community service at school. I and my peers taught English to students at SKH Kei Wing Primary School so, I have brief tutoring experience however, I am a fast learner so I can gain experience quickly.

What I can Tutor

Preschool, Kindergarten, Primary, Junior Secondary

Languages in which I can give lessons

English

Services I Offer

Online tutoring, Home tutoring, Library, Local venue