Ulyssa, tutor in Tsing Yi
1st Lesson Trial

1st Lesson Trial

We will contact you to organize the first Trial Lesson!

What do I enjoy most about tutoring?

The thing I enjoy most about tutoring is seeing my students progress and improve in their understanding and knowledge in the subject area. It gives me great pride in knowing that I have at least played a part in helping the student grow.

My Strengths as Tutor

I believe my strengths as a tutor not only include knowledge, but also kindness. I am resilient and adaptable, able to think quickly on my feet. I am a hard worker, and tend to dedicate all my efforts towards whatever I have to do. I am also organised and like to be well prepared for any situations.

Most important things I can do for a student

The most important things a tutor can do for a student is to build their understanding and confidence within a subject. I believe the role of a tutor is to firstly help understand concepts rather than simply memorising answers to questions. From experience, having an understanding of the underlying concepts will not only be able to help increase performance in tests, but will also allow the student to apply the knowledge to other circumstances/questions which differ in structure to previous exam questions. I also think that through this, a tutor can help increase the confidence of the student within the subject area.

Subjects Tutored

  • English Language tutoring
  • Maths tutoring
  • Extended Maths tutoring
  • Chemistry tutoring
  • Science tutoring

Tutoring students in

  • p1
  • p2
  • p3
  • p4
  • p5
  • p6
  • s1
  • s2
  • s3
  • s4
  • s5
  • s6

High School Attended

Discovery College

University Attended

University of St Andrews

Academic Achievements

IB Diploma

About Me

I am a first year psychology student studying at the University of St Andrews. I am kind, empathetic, and enjoy being around students. As someone interested in pursuing a career in educational psychology, I would like to gain as much experience as possible in the world of education and academics. I enjoy school and learning new things. Outside of academics, I enjoy dancing, specifically ballet, as well as golf. I have also volunteered consistently for the past 3 years at an organisation known as Sunshine Action. I am also not afraid to try new things - recently in university, I tried hip hop, which is vastly different to the style I am comfortable with.

Experience

0.5
Although I do not have a lot of tutoring experience, I have tutored a primary (age 10) student in maths. I tutored her for a few weeks over the summer, helping her to consolidate and develop her arithmetic skills. Prior to lessons, I researched methods of teaching maths which differed from traditional methods, and used everyday items to explain different concepts.

What I can Tutor

Preschool, Kindergarten, Primary, Junior Secondary

Languages in which I can give lessons

English

Services I Offer

Online tutoring, Home tutoring