Brian , tutor in Pok Fu Lam
1st Lesson Trial

1st Lesson Trial

We will contact you to organize the first Trial Lesson!

What do I enjoy most about tutoring?

I really enjoy interacting with students and giving them the advice and confidence they need to succeed. During my own secondary school tenure, I had seniors who would take me under their wing and just give me advice on the various IB subjects, including English. I felt that their advice not only helped tremendously for the academic aspect but gave me a boost of confidence. That’s why I wanted to be able to pass that spirit down to younger students who may have been in the same spot as me and needed some assistance. It also gives me joy to see consistent improvement in a students performance, as well as the fact that they are actually interested and passionate about their subjects.

My Strengths as Tutor

Personally, I think my teaching methods are highly flexible and customised to my students. From experience, I know that every student learns differently, and are receptive to different techniques and have different goals for themselves. Therefore, I always like to consult with them or their parents to try and get a better idea of their strengths, weaknesses, and goals and construct a plan accordingly. I also am very big on communication and empowerment of the student, so I would at times let them be involved in the decision making of what they should be doing or learning in order to improve. I feel that this gives students motivation and responsibility to learn properly instead of feeling forced.

Most important things I can do for a student

I believe a tutor should bring three important things to students, which is knowledge, experience, and self-confidence. Obviously, you will need to teach the students the appropriate knowledge so that they are able to do better in their subjects at school. To do this, you need to have good knowledge of their curriculum and the skills involved. Experience is important because everyone learns differently, and a tutor has to apply their skills in ways that benefit their students most. This is particularly important for private tutors as they only have one student. Lastly, since students may feel intimidated or confused in school, where there is only one teacher and many peers, a tutor must be there to support their student no matter what and instill confidence in them, making them believe they can do well in their subjects.

Subjects Tutored

  • English Language tutoring
  • Biology tutoring
  • Physical Education tutoring

Tutoring students in

  • p1
  • p2
  • p3
  • p4
  • p5
  • p6
  • s1
  • s2
  • s3
  • s4
  • s5
  • s6

High School Attended

Renaissance College Hong Kong

University Attended

University of Hong Kong

Academic Achievements

IB Diploma (Currently an undergraduate student)

About Me

Hi, I’m Brian. I’m currently an undergraduate student at the University of Hong Kong. I have been in an international school my entire life, making English my native language. During my secondary school tenure, I did both MYP and IB English and did quite well throughout, gaining multiple 7s throughout MYP, and gaining a 6 for my final IB examinations. Because of my education, I’m comfortable with a variety of English tasks, such as writing commentaries, reports, and performing oral presentations. The final IB examination score I had was 40/45, which puts me in the top 10-15% of IB applicants.

Experience

2-4
With regards to my tutoring experience in English, I’ve tutored different people from various age groups for around 3 years now, which I believe gives me good flexibility towards any student. I have had to tutor 2 5-year-old twins, starting with phonics vocabulary, and sentence structure, to tutoring 14-16-year-olds, where I would be more focused on essay-type assignments, such as teaching structure and analysis. I have also done tutoring for IB subjects such as English, Biology, and Sports Science.

What I can Tutor

Kindergarten, Primary, Junior Secondary, IELTS

Languages in which I can give lessons

English

Services I Offer

Online tutoring, Home tutoring