Kiara , tutor in Tung Chung
1st Lesson Trial

1st Lesson Trial

We will contact you to organize the first Trial Lesson!

Verified Tutor

What do I enjoy most about tutoring?😁

What I enjoy most about tutoring is witnessing the growth in my students, which I measure not by their grades but by the increase in their self-confidence and drive for self-improvement. It warms my heart when students exhibit more confidence in themselves and proactively take measures to improve themselves.

My Strengths as Tutor💪

My strengths as a tutor lie in my ability to inspire and motivate students. As previously stated, I believe the most important thing a tutor can do is inspire students' passion for learning and build their self-confidence. I carry this conviction in my teaching methods. For younger children learning languages and basic mathematics, I prioritise creating a fun and engaging learning environment. Children are naturally curious and inquisitive - qualities that I wish to engage and enhance in their learning. Therefore, I believe learning through playing and interacting with their environment is the best way for children to learn efficiently and enjoyably. It also allows them to learn languages naturally and have a command of languages comparable to native fluency. For secondary students, especially upper secondary students, university entrance exams are a top priority. When conducting sessions with a group of students, I focus on examination skills. Utilising my own experience in taking the DSE, I introduce various study methods and examination techniques to students; then engage them in different exercises and hands-on work so that they can apply and develop these skills. I also assign take-home assignments so that they can further hone their analytical and critical skills, while in-class tasks also aim at training their time management skills. When conducting one-on-one sessions with individual sessions, my first priority is to assess their strengths and weaknesses. From there, I curate individualised lesson plans that aim at furthering their strengths and improving their weaknesses. This way, I can build their self-confidence while also helping them become more well-rounded students. These lessons emphasise on engagement so as to develop their skills as much as possible.

Most important things I can do for a student🏅

The most important thing a tutor can do for a student is to inspire their passion for learning and build self-confidence. Ultimately, the end goal is to nurture well-rounded, self-motivated, and independent students.

Subjects Tutored🎓

  • English Language tutoring
  • English Literature tutoring
  • Liberal Studies tutoring

Tutoring students in 👦 👧

  • p1
  • p2

High School Attended

St Clare's Girls' School

University Attended

The University of Hong Kong

Academic Achievements

Diploma of Secondary Education

About Me

I am a fourth-year history and political science student at the University of Hong Kong. I am a native English speaker with intermediate proficiency in Cantonese as well. Ethnically from the Philippines, I grew up in Hong Kong and was educated in local schools. I received my primary education at Sacred Heart Canossian School with Cantonese as the medium of instruction and completed the Diploma of Secondary Education (DSE) at St Clare's Girls' School with English as the medium of instruction. Upon completion of the DSE examinations, I attained 5** in English and 5* in both Liberal Studies and Literature in English. I am a bubbly, friendly, and patient person. I carry these qualities into my role as a tutor, therefore creating a relaxed learning environment that allows students to learn at their own pace and in their own ways. I enjoy working with young children and young adolescences alike.


I have several years of tutoring experience, most of which is with upper-secondary students (form 4-6). Upon graduation, my secondary school hired me as a school tutor to conduct supplementary lessons for form 4-6 students in English Literature. For this, I curated lessons aimed at improving students' critical and analytical skills, as well as enhancing their writing and time management skills. The lessons were conducted both online and in person (in accordance with covid conditions) with class sizes ranging from 8-15 students. Additionally, I also engaged in private tutoring to teach students individually. These one-on-one sessions (typically lasting for at least 1.5 hours per session) allowed me to assess the individual needs of students and curate a personalised lesson plan accordingly. I took a very hands-on approach in these lessons, engaging students in essay writing, analysis of excerpts, and critical assessment of sample works. I also have some experience in teaching young children (aged 4-6). During the pandemic, I worked for a few families to help their children keep up with their learning. Through play and interaction, I helped them learn English and Cantonese, as well as basic mathematics.

What I can Tutor

Preschool, Kindergarten, Primary, Junior Secondary, DSE

Languages in which I can give lessons


Services I Offer

Online tutoring, Home tutoring