Tagan, tutor in Kam Tin
1st Lesson Trial

1st Lesson Trial

We will contact you to organize the first Trial Lesson!

What do I enjoy most about tutoring?

I really just enjoy the whole process of tutoring. Tutoring is not just about teaching someone to do well in their studies, but it is also an opportunity to connect with the student and get to know them as a person. I love talking to my students while teaching because an engaging experience can attract them to want to learn more, and this wholesome atmosphere is what makes me want to become a tutor again after moving to the UK. I also feel a sense of pride when I see my students go from not wanting to study their subjects to being enthusiastic about it, because they have accomplished something great in their academic life and to witness that happening is a blissful experience to me!

My Strengths as Tutor

I am very well prepared and patient. Each week I would ask the student's what they expect from their tutorials of that week, then I would tailor make notes to teach them about the relevant concepts. For academically weaker students, I would try and make the notes simpler and easy to understand to help them understand the subjects, while for advance students I like to practice papers with them in order to teach exam techniques that can score well in the HKDSE. I consider myself as being patient as well because sometimes I would have to explain a concept more than once for students who cannot pick up quickly, yet I will still patiently go through everything with them. I encourage them whenever they become frustrated, and never got mad at someone for not understanding what I said as I know it is hard to learn new things sometimes.

Most important things I can do for a student

A tutor is responsible for instilling confidence and self-esteem in their students. Often times students can excel well even in subjects they are comparatively weaker at, but they often doubt their own knowledge with the subject, therefore affecting their end results. In my mind, teaching students to rid themselves of that doubt is the key to academic success, because they will become more eager to learn the subject even outside of the curriculum, boosting their knowledge and help them thrive in the subjects.

Subjects Tutored

  • English Language tutoring
  • Chemistry tutoring
  • Biology tutoring
  • Science tutoring
  • Geography tutoring

Tutoring students in

  • p1
  • p2
  • p3
  • p4
  • p5
  • p6
  • s1
  • s2
  • s3
  • s4
  • s5
  • s6

High School Attended

St. Margaret's Co-Educational English Secondary and Primary School

University Attended

Durham University

Academic Achievements

HKDSE

About Me

I took the HKDSE in 2020 and got very decent grades. I scored a 5* for English (5** for English Writing), Chemistry as well as Geography, a 5 for Biology and a 4 for Chinese, Mathematics and Liberal Studies. I also scored an 8.0 for my IELTS, and I got an 8.5 for my English Speaking. I am a hard and efficient worker, and though I live in the UK now studying my Bachelor's Degree in Psychology (currently in Year 2), I am still looking for opportunities to tutor children who are willing to do online tutorials. As a hobby, I really like drawing as well as playing the piano. I achieved Distinction in my Grade 8 Piano (ABRSM), and enjoys playing it casually in my free time. I have an illustrations instagram named point._______ if anyone is interested to see my drawings as well!

Experience

1-2
I used to tutor 2 P.6 students and 1 S.4 student. For the P.6 students I tutored them English and Mathematics, while for the S.4 student I tutored them English, Chemistry and Biology. My students have shown gradual improvement in the fields that I have tutored them for, which I am deeply proud of them for, and feel rewarding when they told me their accomplishments. Unfortunately I have stopped tutoring the three as I was dealing with the complicated procedures to settle in the UK, however I still keep in touch with them to keep me updated with their academic progress, and provide them with any help they need.

What I can Tutor

Primary, Junior Secondary, DSE, IELTS

Languages in which I can give lessons

English, Cantonese Chinese

Services I Offer

Online tutoring, Home tutoring